This error can occur when opening a project in an older version of the <VE> from which it was created (e.g - opening v6.0 model in v5.9.2). <VE> Projects are forwards compatible only.
This message can also appear if a project has been corrupted. If the project is corrupt then you may still be able to recover from a backup.
1. Restore the file from a backup
We strongly recommend backing up projects regularly during the course of the day. The VE has a built in archive facility that with one click (File>Archive>Current Project) can safely backup the whole project in a second or two. We also recommend you have a couple of copies of each project so that you can revert to them at any moment but that’s potentially overkill (but again for the sake of a few MB... may well be worth it).
2. Recover from TMP file
You might be able to recover from the Backups folder as the VE stores a TMP file in this folder for undo/redo operations.
Look for a temp file created just before the crash happened – you may have to show system or hidden files in the folder view options.
Here’s what happens when you start drawing into a project... 2 tmp files are created:
These might get deleted by the operating system (on reboots for example) because they are only temporary files but shouldn’t in normal circumstances.
To recover the file we need to follow 3 steps: